iorewgiant.blogg.se

Painted backdrops for photography
Painted backdrops for photography












painted backdrops for photography
  1. #PAINTED BACKDROPS FOR PHOTOGRAPHY HOW TO#
  2. #PAINTED BACKDROPS FOR PHOTOGRAPHY PROFESSIONAL#

I started painting a week later and began with the darkest colour first: a deep black-blue. After the third coat the canvas felt pretty heavy and was very wet. I used a small fan to get the drying process to go faster, I found it to help. Start priming (if you want)! I primed it 3 times with a roller, after each time I stopped and let it dry for approximately half an hour. The canvas comes wrinkled but don’t worry – once it absorbs the paint it’s pretty much going to become a very flat wrinkle-free surface. So you’ve purchased everything, the plastic sheeting is taped to the floor and your raw canvas cloth is spread out.

  • 1 four inch brush (would have purchased a bigger width but that was the biggest they had in stock.
  • SUPER important if you don’t want to be on your knees and break your back.
  • 1 Steel Single’s Painter Pole – aka one of those poles you attach to the roller to lengthen it.
  • 1 combo pack that came with 1 heavy duty roller and 2 plastic trays and 1 tin tray.
  • Also purchased 2 quarts of 2 other colours for small details.
  • I purchased 3 main paints, 1 gallon of each colour.
  • 1 linen canvas dropcloth, 9ft x 12ft (the backdrop).
  • Tape (to tape and secure the plastic sheeting).
  • The paint seeps through the canvas, trust me, you want to save yourself the hassle, worry, and time). Spend the few extra bucks and get yourself some huge plastic sheeting and cover your entire room with it.
  • Plastic sheeting (think you’re going to protect your floor by covering it with newspaper or garbage bags? No way in hell.
  • This is the list of things I purchased – in hindsight I definitely could have purchased less and for cheaper, so please keep reading on to know what was useful and what wasn’t! I wish I kept the receipt so I could share exactly what each item is called and how much it cost…I do remember spending almost exactly $250 for everything in total, if that helps. Check out the pinboard I keep.Įverything that was necessary to make this happen was purchased at Home Depot. I am obsessed with this look for backdrops and definitely wanted to emulate them. I made a pinterest board with backdrops that give me a photo-boner, almost exclusively either Sue Bryce’s or Emily Soto’s. I wanted to create an Oliphant-inspired painterly and textured looking backdrop that had a lighter center with a dark vignette.

    painted backdrops for photography painted backdrops for photography

    However, after painting a canvas myself I can guarantee that you can paint a beautiful, good quality canvas for less.

    painted backdrops for photography

    I had a $250 budget for this so I ended up purchasing a lot from the latter.

    #PAINTED BACKDROPS FOR PHOTOGRAPHY PROFESSIONAL#

    I found this post here but the photographer hired a professional muralist and damn it I just don’t care to buy all of the suggested items on his list! I’m very careful when it comes to purchases and try to to be as frugal as possible. I found Sue Bryce’s blog post which is very good but I wanted to continue researching.

    #PAINTED BACKDROPS FOR PHOTOGRAPHY HOW TO#

    I scoured the internet for any resources on how to go about doing this. And so enters the do-it-yourself (DIY) attitude and some crossed fingers praying that I’m not crazy, wasting my time, or wasting my clients’ time. In my dreamworld I’d love to own several high quality Oliphant backdrops but in my dreamworld I also have a much higher budget for this and generally much more money in my bank account. The ones for purchase offered at camera shops in my area are sold from $70 – 150 but they remind of those cliche high school photos. I thought about renting but backdrops are easily damageable and I didn’t want to take on that responsibility.














    Painted backdrops for photography